Our first event since lockdown brought large numbers to the Kilnaughtin Church & Graveyard on Friday 12th August for Mass celebrated by Bishop Ray Browne, Bishop of Kerry. We would like to thank all our local clergy, choir and musicians who added greatly to the occasion, including the blessing of the new Altar Shelter, the Covid Remembrance Garden and all the graves. Donations at the Mass amounted to €2,155.

This new Altar Shelter project is a community project completed on time, within budget and in line with planning requirements. It has involved professional planning and on-going oversights, skilled labour, craftsmanship, financial resources by way of voluntary donations, an immense level of dedicated time given freely by a host of volunteers, materials, sourced locally in so far as was possible  and given on a pro bono basis in many cases and an incalculable level of goodwill from our local communities.

We would also like to thank Dr. Declan Downey & Padraig O’Concubhair for the historical tour around Kilnaughtin & Lislaughtin Abbey on Saturday 13th August. In addition we gratefully acknowledge the walk and talk by Padraic Creedon on the ecology  along the island road on Sunday 14th.

Sunday evening in St Mary’s Church Tarbert brought together the musical talents of harpist Aine Enright, sisters Emma and Grace Heffernan, Trina B. Kennedy and Mikey Fealey with their traditional music, song and dance, the Yershova sisters from Ukraine performing a number of classical pieces and local favourite David O’Gorman (aka Kerry Dave) finishing off the evening with some all-time classics. One couldn’t help notice the happiness and joy that this concert brought to the hearts and minds of all those who attended.

We would like to send our best wishes for a speedy recovery to Singer Grace Foley who was unable to attend on the night due to illness.

Monday brought the weekend events to close with the memorial walk from the Plaza to Mullally’s Berth led by Donal O’Connor.

For all of this and so much more we say a most sincere Thank You.

On behalf of Committee Members Patsy O’Connell, Brid Histon, Kitty McElligott, Patsy OShea, David O’Gorman and Paddy Creedon